Recommended Reading from Southern Indie Booksellers, culled from their websites, newsletters, emails, facebook and twitter posts, and from the moments when they stop us in the street to push a book in our hands sayings "You've got to read this!"

Taking its title from a group of stories that begin the book, this collection moves from contemporary L.A. to the dorm rooms of an American college to ancient Pompeii, throwing the reader into a universe of social misfits, re-imagined scenes from history, and ridiculous overreactions.

Existential food critics. Awkward romances. These and more await in the debut novel by actor Jesse Eisenberg, who manages to create a brilliant snapshot of life in the digital age in this collection of short stories.

Witty and amusingly gloomy, Eisenberg introduces the reader to an eclectic variety of characters and situations you won’t soon forget, especially the chapter on postmodern dating.

Bream Gives Me Hiccups by Jesse Eisenberg (Grove Press) Recommended by Andrew at Square Books Oxford MS


Don't let the title fool you, this cookbook is fun for all ages. 

Pansino starts with the building blocks of baking, using easy to follow recipes that will be used throughout to create deliciously nerdy desserts. Rather than grouping her creations by pies, cakes, and cookies, she groups them by interest, allowing readers to quickly find their obsession of choice.

 It can be complex at times, but overall this is a solid, fun cookbook.

The Nerdy Nummies Cookbook: Sweet Treats for the Geek in All of Us by Rosanna Pansino (Atria Books)Recommended by Andrew at
Square Books Oxford MS


Marked by excess and jazz, the 1920s was also a time of séances and Spiritualism, of reconnecting with lives claimed by the Great War.

One beautiful and uncannily talented Boston medium called Margery won countless devotees and skeptics alike. When a rivalry ensued between Margery and Harry Houdini, the nation was captivated.

Her story is now unearthed by a writer whose ability to give voice to the dead must surely rival her own.

The Witch of Lime Street: Seance, Seduction, and Houdini in the Spirit World by David Jaher (Crown Publishing) Recommended by Carla at Square Books Oxford MS


I hesitate in calling this a cookbook as it's really more of a celebration of Southern culture with a few recipes thrown in.

That said, it's a marvelous cookbook brimming with delicious dishes and info about the people and places that created them, or at least lay claim to. The dishes can be complex at times, but it is definitely worth it.

The Southerner's Cookbook: Recipes, Wisdom, and Stories by Garden & Gun (Harper Wave) Recommended by Andrew at Square Books Oxford MS


Ok, so taxidermy seems creepy, but this book is just wonderful.Not only does it showcase truly talented artists, there is also a brief history of taxidermy and its major players throughout history.

TAXIDERMY ART doesn't stop there. There is a wonderful guide to getting started on taxidermy in the back. Art, history, and DIY all in one book.

Taxidermy Art: A Rogue's Guide to the Work, the Culture, and How to Do It Yourself by Robert Marbury (Artisan Publishers) Recommended by Al at Square Books Oxford MS


In the tradition of Hamilton's The People Could Fly and In the Beginning, a dramatic new collection of 25 compelling tales from the female African American storytelling tradition.

Each story focuses on the role of women--both real and fantastic--and their particular strengths, joys and sorrows. Full-color illustrations.

Her Stories: African American Folktales, Fairy Tales, and True Tales by Virginia Hamilton, Leo Dillon, Diane Dillon (Blue Sky Press) Recommended by Fiona at Charis Books Decatur GA