Recommended Reading from Southern Indie Booksellers, culled from their websites, newsletters, emails, facebook and twitter posts, and from the moments when they stop us in the street to push a book in our hands sayings "You've got to read this!"

-The world is a beautiful place, don't you think? Not because it is, but because I see it that way.-

The title is the first thing I noticed about this book, but it definitely wasn't what kept me reading it - the writing itself took care of that.

This entire novel is ONE sentence. This is a book meant to be devoured in one sitting - you may not stop to catch your breath. Hrabal is a master and he does something really special here. 

Dancing Lessons for the Advanced in Age By Bohumil Hrabal (NYRB Classics) Recommended by O.B. at Scuppernong Books Greensboro NC

After a famous mathematician’s death, her colleagues and rivals from all over the world gather along with the family to sit shiva and honor her memory.

Certain that the late Rachela Karnokovitch has solved the Navier-Stokes problem and taken the solution to her grave, the group looks for clues under floorboards, interrogates her pet parrot, and searches the house.

Readers, whether they have an appreciation of mathematics or not, will appreciate the love, family, and beauty of this novel.

The Mathematician's Shiva by Stuart Rojstaczer (Penguin) Recommended by Lyn at Square Books Oxford MI
 

Lila is a good reminder of why I love Marilynne Robinson's rich writing.

The main character, Lila, becomes the wife of the Reverend Ames (a wonderfully gentle and sympathetic man who appears in Robinson's other two books set in Gilead). When we first meet Lila, she is an untamed creature, but through the love of her rescuer, Doll, and Ames, she matures and finds a sense of security.


Lila By Marilynne Robinson (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) Recommended by Mamie at Quail Ridge Books Raleigh NC

When A. inherits a large estate after the sudden suicide of his cousin, he is thrust into the middle of a mystery with deadly consequences.

Ghosts, cultists, and dreams of unspeakable acts are only the beginning for A. as he tries to uncover the secrets of Acton House.

A mystery in the tradition of Lovecraft, King, Henry James, and Edith Wharton (who lends this book its title), this book will leave you wanting more because once Cantero has you hooked you won't want to put it down.


The Supernatural Enhancements by Edgar Cantero (Doubleday) Recommended by Andrew at Square Books Oxford MI

Brown Girl DreamingEvery now and then, a book comes along that you love and know that you MUST share. Jacquline Woodson's Brown Girl Dreaming is one of those. We here at the Booksellers know that books have the power to change lives. We also believe that sharing books like this one fosters empathy, while empowering readers young and old to tell their stories, and listen to -- and learn from -- each other. We invite you to read Brown Girl Dreaming with us this October, and hope that this book moves you same way it has moved us.  -- The Booksellers at Laurelwood

A Deadly WanderingI know we're all tired of hearing phrases like that about books, but I really believe this book can change lives and save lives. Matt Richtell has written an investigative book on the use of cell phones while driving.  It is as compelling as it is damning.  

A Deadly Wandering shows that there is now enough scientific evidence to support that driving while texting and talking on the phone (even speaker phone) can be as deadly or even more deadly than driving drunk. I have personally almost been hit several times while walking by a texter or phone user.  You probably have too.  This book proves that no one can both drive and use their phone at the same time and not be a danger to others and themselves.

We can move the needle on this one, my friends.

Please read it.

Because, really: what a stupid way to die.

--Kelly Justice, at Fountain Bookstore, Richmond, VA