Southern Indie Bestsellers

 

HARDCOVER FICTION


1. All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr, Scribner, $27, 9781476746586
2. The Girl on the Train
Paula Hawkins, Riverhead, $26.95, 9781594633669
3. A God in Ruins
Kate Atkinson, Little Brown, $28, 9780316176538
4. God Help the Child
Toni Morrison, Knopf, $24.95, 9780307594174
5. Memory Man
David Baldacci, Grand Central, $28, 9781455559824

HARDCOVER NONFICTION


1. The Wright Brothers
David McCullough, S&S, $30, 9781476728742
2. The Road to Character
David Brooks, Random House, $28, 9780812993257
3. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up
Marie Kondo, Ten Speed Press, $16.99, 9781607747307
4. It's a Long Story: My Life
Willie Nelson, Little Brown, $30, 9780316403559
5. Dead Wake
Erik Larson, Crown, $28, 9780307408860

Read this!

 

I don’t read many biographies, but I love memoirs and this is one of my all-time favorites.

Journalist Steve Luxenberg discovers that his mother had a sister, Annie, who was disabled and institutionalized. She had kept it a secret for over 50 years.

His search for the truth about is a story of family, the depression, the Holocaust and the nation’s treatment of disabled adults.


Annie’s Ghosts: A Journey into a Family Secret by Steve Luxenberg (Hachette) Recommended by Allison at Blue Ridge Books Waynesville NC

Okra Picks

ValiantA debut fairy tale reimagining featuring a strong female character and a daring quest just right for fans of Shannon Hale, Jessica Day George, and Gail Carson Levine.

Saville hates sewing. How can she not when her father, the Tailor, loves his bolts of velvet and silk far more than he's ever loved her? Yet, when he is struck ill shortly after they arrive in the city of Reggen, Saville must don boy's clothes in the hopes of gaining a commission from the king to keep them fed.

The kingdom is soon on edge when stories spread of an army of giants led by a man who cannot be killed. But giants are just stories, and no man is immortal.

And then the giants do come to the city gates, two larger-than-life scouts whom Saville cunningly tricks into leaving. The Tailor of Reggen is the hero of the kingdom, the king promises his sister's hand in marriage, and by the time Saville reaches the palace doors, it is widely known that the Tailor single-handedly killed the giants.

When her secret--that she's a girl--is quickly discovered by Lord Galen Verras, the king's cousin, Saville's swept into the twists and turns of court politics. The deathless man is very real, and he will use his giant army to ensure he is given the throne freely or by force.

Now, only a tailor girl with courage and cunning can see beyond the tales to discover the truth and save the kingdom again.

Valiant is a rich reimaging of "The Brave Little Tailor," artfully crafting a story of understanding, identity, and fighting to protect those you love most.

Buy from an indie | Read the first chapter!

The act of putting words on a page

In which her ladyship, the editor, speculates on her neighbors based on the books they leave in her little free library, Mr. Wiley Cash marvels at the act of putting words on a page, Mr. Jonathan Odell advises people not to get good at anything they hate doing, and Ms. Kristy Woodson Harvey's husband explains to her why country people don't need to shop at Whole Foods.

Lady Banks' Commonplace Book

Click Here to Subscribe

Parapalooza!

Parapalooza

paragraphs worth spreading

Jonathan Odell

"When my Northern friends ask if I was religious growing up in the South, I laugh. Religion soaked the land like bourbon on an Episcopalian’s fruitcake."

Read more

SIBA Book Award

SIBA Book Award


Free Book Stimulus Plan

Increase your karmic footprint.

Free BookWe understand that you can buy books anywhere.  You understand that while loving independent bookstores is a wonderful thing, loving them with your shopping dollars is even more wonderful! 
These Southern Indie Booksellers want to entice you to shop with them.  Buy online or in store from any of these shops, then complete the form below and mail it in with your receipt and get a free book.  
What kind of book? you ask.  Answer:  A Free One.  Read more

Southern Indie Lit Crossword Puzzle Book

The Southern Indie Lit Crossword Puzzle Book

How well do you know your Southern lit? We dare you to use a pen on these crossword puzzles, each inspired by one of the winning titles of the SIBA Book Award, honoring ten years of the very best in Southern literature as chosen by the people who would know...Southern Independent Booksellers! A great gift for your book club, for puzzle-lovers, and anyone who loves Southern literature. $9.95 paperback. Available at Southern Indie Bookstores.

Play a sample puzzle online! | See the answers