Lady Banks Bookshelf

Lady Banks Pick of the Week


Read This Now: The Index

What if there were an army of indie booksellers enthusiastically reading and reviewing practically every new book coming out in the next year, and what if the books they were the most excited about, the books they couldn't wait to push into their customers' hands with a breathless "You've GOT to read this!" (virtually or otherwise), the ones with all the nine- and ten-star ratings were carefully curated and collected in a handy list? Well, all we can say is...KEEP READING!

Browse the whole list!


The Wrong Heaven by Amy BonnaffonsThis debut collection of stories is unbelievably funny and charmingly bizarre.

Winking at the absurdity and madness of modern womanhood, Bonnaffons's real talent is the crushing humanity she injects into each story. This collection has style, substance, and the perfect mix of whimsy and macabre.

In short, I can't shut up about how much I loved it. Fans of Aimee Bender, Samantha Hunt, Karen Russell, George Saunders and all those other lovable literary weridos—make room on your literary altar for Amy and rejoice!

The Wrong Heaven by Amy Bonnaffons ($26.00*, Little, Brown and Company), recommended by Square Books, Oxford, MS.

 A Summer 2018 Okra Pick